When do you stop picking yourself up?

Not being used to failure, when it did happen and not just once but repeatedly, it took more than just a little self motivation to pick myself up and try again.  I swear that at that time, I could have physically strangled all the people who told me in what they thought were kind words that failure was the stepping stone to success. Trust you me it took all I had to keep my hands firmly to myself. The sense of hopelessness and helplessness that hits you when you fail quite overwhelm you and I really didn’t think I would be able to try again. More than once I thought that it would be easier to just stop and try my hand at something different. Today, am glad I pushed myself to keep trying. Facing failure has only made me stronger and I know that I am a humbled better person today than i was yesterday because of it.

At a lecture I attended today, the facilitator said something to the effect that stone doesn’t become a beautiful piece of art unless someone takes a go at it with a hammer and a chisel…what can I say? The thought stuck. A lot of people stop trying…give up…let go…and to them I say, success tastes so much sweeter when the road to achieve it has been long and hard. So keep picking yourself up…its worth it.

Would love to hear what you think!

