Crossroads

So here I am, at the proverbial crossroads of my life. Looking in every which direction but not sure which way I want to go.

The road to the East seems to be pointing in the direction of using the degree I shed sweat and tears over to achieve and working using the, erm…information…I assimilated over the years of study and work in consulting; advising companies and people how best to avoid…not evade…tax! Or to a slightly similar future in the big bad corporate world where in my head I think perhaps somewhere down that road I could be a big wheel in some multinational company raking in the moolah…but if I take that road I don’t know how fulfilling my life will be…

Straight ahead, my North leading road appears to show me doing something I like…talking and teaching people…young children in schools or grownups in companies…educating people, learning, unlearning and re-learning things myself and ultimately…ultimately enjoying that highly satisfying feeling of having made even the tiniest change to one persons life…

Onto the road to the West… it appears to lead to a life where I stow my degree away at the back of a very deep dark closet and write a book about the characters dancing around in my head, sell millions of copies and win the Pulitzer. That road is completely the one I would like to run down with arms wide open but a writer’s life is a hard life and I’m not sure yet if I’m Pulitzer material.

The road to the South is the most comfortable and at the moment most inviting of all…it leads back to my home where I can perfect the art of reading lying down and simultaneously not dropping the book on my face. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll be happy just sitting at home forever…

So, like I said…here I stand at the proverbial crossroads. The roads seem to stretch out as far as the eye can see on all sides and here’s little old me, standing like a lost child unsure which way to turn in spite of ages of weighing my options.

I wish I could do what little children do when they have to make a choice of which ride at an amusement park they would like to go on first…shut my eyes, spin round really fast and halt suddenly pointing in fairly random direction moving forward believing with all my heart that it was the best decision I could have ever taken…

2 comments on “Crossroads

  1. Punith Kumar says:

    Hmm well being at crossroads is better than being off-road.

    Like

  2. ifraz says:

    Gud one…

    Like

Would love to hear what you think!

