Mirror Mirror

When I look in the mirror I see a face that once in a while, I’m totally content with. Most of the time, I look at my reflection and wish I looked a little different. I notice the unwelcome appearance of every new grey hair and try to calculate which is going to happen first – my hair turning completely white or my hair walking out of my life for good. I scan every inch of my face  to spot a new blemish. The discovery of which sets me on a hunt for something that will make it disappear. I check to see if I look fatter or thinner promising to start exercising every day and then breaking that promise every day….sigh…

When I look in the mirror, a large percentage of the time, it’s with some degree of hesitation. But, ever so often, I take an extra close look in the mirror to see beyond just the face and body looking back at me. There are times I frown at myself admonishing myself for constantly doubting my abilities and questioning my decisions. I know I look quite different but, I check to see if the girl in the mirror is the same person I was a couple of years ago. Still full of dreams, still a believer in happy-endings, still ever hopeful.

When I look in the mirror, I see all the jigsaw pieces that fit together to make me, me…

9 comments on “Mirror Mirror

  1. I always look askance at the mirror, for it shows a different me nowadays … a time rusted soul. Why should the mirror tell me that I have lost my treasure trove of my youth? The mirror and I are now enemies.

    Like

  2. aamjunta says:

    Beautiful writing. Keep writing more and more…

    Like

  3. nabanita says:

    Loved it 🙂 keep writing !!

    Like

  4. […] Mirror Mirror | Fuchsia Outbursts […]

    Like

  5. Harsha says:

    Nice Writeup Preeti..Indeed looking upto the mirror does makes us look into ourselves provide we take a closer look at it… 🙂

    Like

Would love to hear what you think!

