The Shadow of Your Smile

I remember when you held me in your arms, I felt so safe. Even justย the sound of your car pulling up in the driveway gave me peace. I remember we used to spend whole days together, without a care in the world, wrapped up in each others arms…relishing every moment we spent with each other…

But then suddenly, it ended…

To survive, I’ve had to learn to block out the journey to the hospital and the grey days that followed…

God knows I miss you, but, the memories are fading…all that remains now is the shadow of your smile…

100 Words on Saturday - Write Tribe
28 comments on “The Shadow of Your Smile

  1. Suzy says:

    Your post really touched my heart because I wrote a similar one (a true story). The sadness lingers, but the shadow of their smiles keeps us going. Thanks for writing on my prompt.

    Like

  2. It touched the heart Preeti and transported me to the shadow of someone’s smile ages back:)

    Like

  3. Shilpa Garg says:

    A poignant one!! Liked it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. afshan18 says:

    I have read many happy and also sad stories as part of the prompt !
    aah this one again made me senti !:(

    Like

  5. Bhavya says:

    Ahh memories. Even when people leave, their memories stay back!

    Like

  6. Kalpanaa says:

    Very well written. Conjured up all the emotions of comfort taken away, loss and memories of good times.

    Like

  7. pixie says:

    so nicely written…
    some memories linger ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hopped over from Write Tribe

    Like

  8. sheethalsusan says:

    It’s sad when memories fade when we just wanna live in them.

    Like

  9. Neelam Dadhwal says:

    painful when memories leave over time. Very nice take on prompt.

    Like

    • Preeti says:

      Yes..loss is truly very difficult and the realization that loved ones lost are slowly fading away is indeed painful.
      Glad you liked my 100 words.

      Like

  10. Nice little story. liked it

    Like

  11. Rainbow Hues says:

    Love, Loss & Longing…all wrapped up in one. I liked this piece too much. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  12. My Say says:

    Intense narration !! loved it !!

    Like

  13. Harsha says:

    Time fades everything but at some point of time we feel the void of our loved ones..Nice Read.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Preeti says:

      That void never really goes away I think. The pain dulls, and lots of things fade away but certain memories always remain sharp and come to us in times of need.
      Thanks for reading!

      Like

  14. Nice write. Like it.

    Like

Would love to hear what you think!

