UBC1: And it rained!

I am at my parents house in Mangalore, in the middle of major packing. Major because I’m moving to Manama on Friday and can’t believe I have so many things, especially when I never seem to have anything to wear!! But, just when I was getting nice and comfortable in Bangalore, I’ve had to say goodbye and walk down a new path. However, that’s another story…maybe for tomorrow.

Packing, for those of you who don’t know, is tiring work and I don’t mean just physically. It is mentally exhausting. The sorting and the deciding –  things to take, things to leave, things to give away and things I can’t believe I actually bought! I did so much clearing and cleaning up that I saw the back and bottom of my cupboard for the first time in over a decade and it was not a pretty sight!

Mangalore has also been unkind to me. There have been regular annoying power-cuts, the heat and humidity have been almost unbearable and to top the list there were no rains!!! I was hoping to enjoy the monsoons this year and the cool weather it brings. But, the weatherman said that the rains had been delayed till Saturday, the 5th, and wouldn’t you know it…for once, he seemed to be right! Till yesterday, there was not a cloud in the sky. But today…today, look at what rolled in!?!

Clouds!!!! View outside my house at about 2 in the afternoon!!

They are my favourite kind too! Dense, grey and water laden. It has been raining almost all day and the weather is finally pleasant.

Thank you God for giving me one last beautiful rainy day to enjoy before I go to the desert on Friday.

Time to curl up with some hot tea, fried munchies and a good book….mmmm….
******

/

18 comments on “UBC1: And it rained!

  1. Swaarasa says:

    Hope you enjoyed the rains before flying away.

    Like

  2. Shalzzz says:

    Good luck with your shifting! I am missing the Kerala monsoon! There is hardly a drizzle here in Pune 😦 Lucky you!
    Visit me @TaleoftwoTomatoes

    Like

  3. Tina says:

    At least you are getting rains!
    Tina from The Sunny Side of Life

    Like

  4. Tushar says:

    Can’t believe I stopped in on a random post on weather just because I was rejoicing the ebullient weather in my place I was not having the proclivity to write something of my own because the weather was a little too good to do that. Astonishingly, you wrote it up for me already. 😀

    Tushar
    Project Disavowed

    Like

  5. Looks like awesome weather, Preeti..I know packing can be hellish…best for challenge.

    Here’s my link
    http://vishal-newkidontheblock.blogspot.com/2014/07/an-orkut-love-story.html

    Like

  6. Mystic says:

    Aaah rain – how much this rainy day is going to play on your mind when you’re in the desert. Treasure it.

    Like

  7. Shilpa Garg says:

    Recently I did spring cleaning at home and can so relate to “things I can’t believe I actually bought!”… 😀 There were some kurtis and tops which I have NEVER ever worn and I wondered what was I thinking when I was buying them! 😛 Glad that rains have soaked you and your city, it should visit us soon too. Happy moving to the new place 🙂

    Like

  8. Lucky you! We are yet to be blessed with rains in this part of the country where I live. What great way to start UBC – fried munchies and hot tea?!
    Wish you all the best for your shifting.

    Like

Would love to hear what you think!

