C is for Cinema

Almost everyone loves a good movie, and even today when there are other means available to watch a new release, people still flock to the movie hall. Apart from the fact that I think it’s usually a little too cold there, I love the cinema experience and I’m excited from the second I walk into the lobby to long afterwards when I’ve analyzed the story in great detail with the husband.

These are my top reasons to go to the cinema:

popcorn-155602_640Movie Munchies! I’m not sure why I started with food… But, I’m going to say it’s because for me, the snacks are just as important to the experience as the movies themselves. I could never have the same wide choice available at the snack bar if I was at home – popcorn, nachos, tacos, sandwiches, popcorn, candies, an assortment of beverages (did I say popcorn twice? Well…see how wonderful movie popcorn is? ) Sitting in a plush reclining seat watching Salman Khan ‘kick‘ butt just doesn’t have the same effect if I’m not holding a tub of perfectly popped popcorn in my hands.

Trailers. If like me, you aren’t the kind of person who spends a lot of time watching previews on the internet, then the cinema is the place for you too! I love being able to see a clip from a movie that is yet to be released. It’s the movie-makers first chance to draw me in, give me goosebumps and make me want to scream, “I CANNOT wait to see this movie!” Why deny them that? 🙂

3D movies! They’re all the rage these days. Almost piglet-139675_640everything released seems to have a 2D and a 3D version. Even if you have a 3D enabled television, it’s really no fun watching one at home. Sitting in a hall full of people wearing those goofy looking glasses is an enjoyable experience. Plus, it feels more real when the shattered glass flying at your face is from a screen larger than anything you could have at home.

The more the merrier. For some reason excitement and joy is doubled when more people share an experience. It’s true of everything, even watching movies. I know, I know, you’re probably thinking; all those people will make watching a film a big pain, especially if they are texting or constantly discussing scenes from the movie. But, somehow none of that makes a difference because it’s such a magical experience!

Distraction free viewing. Do I really need to elaborate? Maybe just a little…think about it – no phone calls, no door bells, no dinner burning on the stove. Just me and Hugh Jackman (or whoever else you would like to be on that large screen) for 120 wonderful minutes.

Do you like going to the cinema? What’s your favourite part?

******

Written for ABC Wednesday “C is for…”

16 comments on “C is for Cinema

  1. shanx says:

    Fav part? Watching movies that make sense 😀 (Times when you’re stuck and can’t even sleep due to the irksome item songs 😦 ) A movie freak, that’s what our weekends are for 😉

    Like

  2. Roger Green says:

    GOOD popcorn is essential!
    ROG, ABCW

    Like

  3. Carver says:

    I don’t go to the cinema as much as I used to but it is fun to see movies in a cinema like I used to always do instead of at home like I usually do now. Carver, ABC Wed. Team

    Like

  4. amsang says:

    I grew up watching English movies. Eros, Regal and Sterling. Hindi movies, a strict no. Last movie I watched at Eros was Kandukondain Kandukondain. Its a Tamil Movie, never remade in Hindi.
    Favourite part is the build up to actually entering the cinema hall.

    Like

    • Preeti says:

      I love the experience in total! Even the bawling babies in the next seat have become a part of the whole thing!
      Thanks for commenting and following too!

      Like

  5. Jyothi Nair says:

    I love the movie experience more than any other kind of outing. But lately I have realized that people need to taught to keep quiet when the movie is screening. It is so irritating when you hear noises around and you can’t concentrate on the movie because of those!

    Like

  6. Munchies like pop corn , nachos complete the movie watching experience. But at the cinema halls toddlers wailing , people talking on the cell-phones etc take the fun out of watching the movie on big screen.

    Like

  7. Nothing beats the joy of watching a good movie and munching the pop corn. The whole thrilling experience is something to die for. Movies, Masti and Magic:)

    Like

  8. I prefer to watch movies at home. I go to the cinema only to watch those films that must be watched on the big screen.
    I don’t agree with your last point. Too many people come to the cinema for all the other things. They disturb others by talking loudly (to each other or on the phone) and totally ignore the fact that their kids are creating a racket! 😦

    Like

Would love to hear what you think!

