E is for Exciting Experiments!

So for those of you reading my posts regularly you would know that yesterday I was excited about the outcome of my first bread baking experience in my new kitchen here. Let it be known that all my earlier experiments with baking bread have been fails. Enormous fails. Usually, the dough just never seems to rise enough and the finished product is terribly heavy and dense or it never gets that beautiful golden crunchy crust and well, I’ve had to throw the blob of hard dough out without having eaten more than a slice.

So, yesterday, when I had kneaded my dough into a smooth elastic ball and placed it in a greased bowl, I prayed to the big bakers in the sky to help me out a little. They were kind to me for when I checked on the dough after about two and a half hours it had doubled in size and was this big airy soft ball. It felt almost therapeutic to punch it down and re-shape it into a loaf shape. When I put it in the oven, it was with the hope that I would, after so many failed attempts, at last have edible bread.

Maybe it was going to be my lucky day… 🙂

Once it had baked, I took it out, tapped the bottom and was rewarded with a glorious hollow sound (which experienced bakers tell me is supposed to mean that the bread is baked well). Ta-daaaa!

IMG_20140814_151707

I know it’s a little flat but I choose to believe that that is because the loaf tin was a little too big for the amount of dough so it spread out first and then rose up. Next time I’ll make more. But, it’s golden and look at those air pockets on the side! 😀

Any of you who have baked will know what I mean when I say that the hardest part is waiting for the enticing baked yummy to cool down enough before you can cut it. For me it was excruciatingly long. But it was worth it because when I finally when I cut it, this is what I saw:

IMG_20140814_182524

It looked just like those bread slices from the store. Well maybe not exactly, but close enough! And oh joy! It even tasted quite like bread from the store! Perhaps this marks my independence from store-bought bread. Speaking of which, happy independence day to everyone who is celebrating today!

******

Written for ABC Wednesdays E is for…

abc15 (1)

15 comments on “E is for Exciting Experiments!

  1. Hi Fuchsia Outbursts: I have nominated you for a Liebster Award! This award recognizes and promotes blogs with under 200 followers. See more here: https://healthyglowchic.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/a-liebster-award/

    Keep on encouraging and inspiring us, you are doing a fabulous job!

    Like

  2. India Tour says:

    A good discovery here… Nice to reading it….and nice to be here….

    Like

  3. Lux says:

    Good for you for this new discovery. Never stop learning I always say.

    Like

  4. shanx says:

    Hello Preeti, you’ve been busy 😀 ?
    I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blog Award. Please visit and accept if it’s ok.
    http://wp.me/p3FhMj-9A

    Like

  5. Yummy; I wish I lived next door to you!

    Like

  6. sharu4ever says:

    Wow. Freshly baked bread and Nutella to go with it, would be killer !!
    Congrats on mastering in baking Preeti ^_^

    Like

  7. Yummm! Your bread looks mighty fine to me. I like eating freshly baked bread. 2 and a half hours, huh? I usually punch down after an hour and my bread comes out rock hard. Next time, I’ll wait longer and see what happens.
    Take 25 to Hollister
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    Like

  8. Roger Green says:

    This LOOKS delicious! My mailing address is..

    Like

Would love to hear what you think!

