Growing Up

When I published that little post the other day after all those months of…hibernation?…Yes, I think that’s probably the best way to describe my state of being…I realized just how much I have missed writing/blogging regularly. Moving to a different country brought with it change of proportions that I didn’t expect to encounter so quickly and for a while I was almost struggling to cope. My “home” here was the last thing on my mind. You see, when I first moved to Bahrain in July 2014, the husband and I thought it was time we took the “We two, Our one” (for the time being at least) plunge and try to extend our little family of two. Never did I expect to see those positive lines on the home pregnancy test just a month after we made that decision. I couldn’t digest the fact that at that very moment, I was already playing host to a baby and would be for the next nine months! Could I really be that lucky? I wouldn’t allow myself to believe the test. Truth be told, I think I only accepted that I was going to be a mother when my doctor pointed out the tiny little speck that was to be our child at my first ultrasound. (I needed her to show me where the baby was twice, because I couldn’t spot the baby the first time. I am hoping that is no gauge for how I will fare as a parent…sigh…)

I spent a lot of the first few months of my pregnancy like most other women, with my head bent over a toilet unable to tolerate the smell of food let alone eat it and shed weight so fast that at any other time in my life, the weighing scale and I would have been friends for the very first time. But, I was not in the mood to make friends and instead anxiously worried about the baby. I was also really lonely because since it had been just a month that I was in Bahrain before the onset of the morning sickness, apart from the husband, there wasn’t anyone else who I had the time to get to know well enough in the country to even spend an afternoon with to take my mind off things. Being at an emotional and physical low point (and being allowed to be extra fussy since I am expecting), I convinced the husband to let me have the delivery in India; in surroundings I know and with more people I love close by. So, here I am…back in the settings I ached for when I was all those miles away.

I didn’t write…couldn’t in fact…for months and months, but now, having reached the stage where my belly has begun to enter a room before me and people no longer just ask how I’ve managed to put on so much weight, I feel the need to get back to writing. In a little while, if everything goes well, the husband and I will become completely responsible for another human life. Am I excited? Of course I am! I adore children and knowing that I have one of my own on his or her way makes me thrilled. Am I also scared? No…I’m plain old terrified! I am after all the woman who for the longest time truly believed her baby’s movements were just gas… When I think of that part of me that wants to write, I wonder if I will be able to sit at a laptop or desktop and have the time to write what I feel. Somehow I don’t see that as a sure thing in the near future. But, I’ll never know if I don’t try.

I suppose it’s time for me to accept that the girl looking back at me from the mirror has grown up and a new chapter is about to begin – motherhood…won’t you wish me luck?

14 comments on “Growing Up

  1. […] Now a little later I know, although it is normal, I didn’t have to turn into a great big mess because lying on that operating table, strapped up to strange contraptions, my mouth covered with an oxygen mask, I can’t recall a time I was happier than those few seconds when they let me gaze upon her face before whisking her away. I realized that my biggest fear about being ready was probably the most foolish of all. Of course I was ready! I’d been ready to be her mother since the day I saw her as nothing more than a little speck on the ultrasound. […]

    Like

  2. Ranju says:

    Awww Preetiiii this is awesome news!!! I haven’t read your posts for a while since you told me that you aren’t writing much. I just thought of checking and this is freaking awesome! I’m happy for you 😀 My love to the baby in the tummy too :*

    Like

  3. shanx says:

    Wishing you three all the luck.. yay! Waiting for the picture 🙂 Such a lovely post to read Preeti 🙂 Happy parenting (you both are going to be great 🙂 ) Best Wishes!

    Like

  4. sharu4ever says:

    You will be such a great Mom Preeti 🙂 Wish you and the baby the best! 🙂

    Like

  5. Anil Sawan says:

    may you be the best mom on earth 🙂 happy parenting. Enjoy the little sweetness of the baby bump 🙂

    Like

  6. It’s such a sweet post. Congrats and wish to hear from you soon with a cute pic of the apple of your eyes…. 🙂

    Like

    • Preeti says:

      Thanks so much Maniparna! 🙂 Am glad you enjoyed the post. Since days seem to be flying suddenly, I don’t think it will be long before I’ll have to post that picture 🙂

      Like

    • Preeti says:

      Thanks so much Maniparna! 🙂 Am glad you enjoyed the post and took time to read it even though I’ve been away for such an age! Since days seem to be flying suddenly, I don’t think it will be long before I’ll have to post that picture 🙂

      Like

Would love to hear what you think!

