Mother’s Day

It’s Mother’s Day.

This is the first year that my little girl is old enough to form the words and wish me. Being game to celebrate anything right now, at my husbands prompting, she came running to me and said “Happy Mama’s day!” before covering me in baby kisses. I don’t need anything else.

When I was growing up, I don’t think I ever wished my mother on Mother’s Day. I don’t think I even knew when it was and so today, three decades later, wishing her feels awkward. Now as has become my way, instead of saying how I feel, I’m going to try and type it out.

Thank you. For being patient but still putting me in my place every now and then. For listening to me complain but taking my side only when I’m not at fault. For allowing me to make my life choices but still choosing my outfits for functions. For making all the sacrifices and yet encouraging me to take the paths you didn’t. For being the baker-mom that caused every other kid I knew to envy me. For giving me your recipe book. For making me believe that I can do whatever it is I dream and still never pushing too hard. For enduring even when it must have been so hard. For being my guidepost.

I love you and if I am half the mother to Aarti as you were and still are to us, Aarti is sure one lucky girl.

Happy Mother’s Day Ma!

XOXO

7 comments on “Mother’s Day

  1. Ms Via says:

    Such a lovely and beautiful post πŸ™‚ Loved reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Mother’s Day Preeti and it’s such a beautiful way to thank your Mom. Such an endearing family picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mzhanafi says:

    Awwww! Also, this could easily be Aarti in the photo! Such a strong resemblance!

    Like

Would love to hear what you think!

